Prince of Peace Lutheran Church

"Behold, how good and pleasant it is for brethren
to dwell together in unity."                     Psalm 133:1
3101 CR 417
Taylor, TX 76574

Our Humble Beginnings

In the late 1880's, the prairies northeast of Taylor were owned by a few wealthy landowners. One such holding, the Hoxie Ranch, consisted of 11,000 acres.


In 1889, however, these large landowners began dividing their ranches into smaller parcels. Ready buyers were found in Pflugerville's Swiss and German community.

These families moved to and around the small communities of Waterloo, Hoxie, New Bern and Sandoval.


The faith and traditions of the Lutheran church were a focal point for these families. However, since only one Lutheran church was located in the Taylor area (Immanuel Lutheran Church/West Taylor founded in 1888) several community leaders met to discuss purchasing land for a cemetery.


These leaders, such as Henry Priesmeyer, Sr., C.G. Wuthrich, John Stoll and A. Stoll formed the Evangelical Church and School Association of Wuthrich Hill, and in 1894, purchased two acres (at $11.00 per acre) from Mathis Wuthrich. Additional support for a local Lutheran church was received later, in 1894, from settlers from the Old Washington and Austin communities.


At a meeting held on December 22, 1894, at the Turkey Creek School, Henry Priesmeyer, W. Meyer, Henry Schwenker, Fritz Meiske, Augustus Braker, H. Heselmeyer, C. Wuthrich, A. Stoll and John Stoll decided to organize a new congregation known as St. James Evangelical Lutheran Congregation of Wuthrich Hill. In short order, application for membership in the Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Texas, a branch of the Iowa Synod, was made.


Pastor Letterman of Pflugerville supplied the fledging congregation with a constitution for examination. This constitution was adopted on January 13, 1895. The first councilmen, W. Meyer, Henry Priesmeyer and A. Stoll, were also elected at this time.